The boy who left his toothbrush ( *a short story)

I was looking at the droplets shining on the top of his toothbrush. He had used it just a few minutes before… leaving. For good. From where I was lying on the floor I could see the sink from a strange, crooked angle. Instead of dying, I could now see everything through a distorted lens – as if I had broken my neck. Blurred. Drop, drop, drop…In a hurry to leave, he did not fully turn off the tap. Drop, drop, drop…I could hear his steps fading away from my house.

Spring

– This morning I put your toothbrush next to mine

– Ha-ha. Cool…and? Is this a big deal?

-Yeah…it is.

You can tell a lot about someone from the contents of their pocket. The majority of us just have a lot of garbage: gum wrappers, old shopping lists, receipts, bus tickets and hair bands. But not him. Check his pockets and you’ll find a toothbrush. I bet my heart on it. In some alternate reality he could easily be a dentist. No, rather the tooth fairy… Mr. Too-good-to-be-true. Mr. Toothbrush. Mr. Big White Smile.Mr.Big White Lies. Mr. Big Lies…  Lies.

Summer

-My sweet girl, nobody could ever delete you from my heart.

Autumn

Welcome back. How was your journey?

-Very long I’d say… months.

-Do you want to make love to me?

-To make love with the love of my life? Yes, I do.

Winter

–  I think we should not be together.

Drop, drop, drop… the boy who left his toothbrush. Why not? He can always buy a new one… made in China.

 

Leave a comment